Skip to content
Bridgend Counts — Bridgend, in numbers.Local help →

Bridgend, in numbers

People and living standards

Bridgend council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Bridgend council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 129,477 in 1991 to 146,986 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Bridgend council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 128,667 people in 1996; 146,986 people in 2025. 14.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Bridgend council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991129,477
1992129,796
1993130,129
1994130,063
1995129,466
1996128,667
1997127,996
1998128,652
1999128,585
2000128,224
2001128,735
2002129,741
2003131,032
2004131,947
2005132,893
2006134,164
2007135,949
2008137,175
2009137,783
2010138,471
2011139,410
2012139,985
2013140,579
2014141,333
2015142,177
2016142,887
2017143,355
2018143,583
2019144,500
2020145,434
2021145,738
2022146,074
2023146,692
2024147,088
2025146,986
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Bridgend council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 26,908 people in 1996; 24,888 people in 2025. 7.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Bridgend council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199126,774
199226,896
199327,136
199427,347
199527,326
199626,908
199726,736
199826,674
199926,683
200026,398
200126,286
200226,192
200326,262
200426,126
200526,006
200626,012
200725,971
200825,828
200925,669
201025,423
201125,358
201225,566
201325,634
201425,600
201525,772
201625,929
201726,038
201826,159
201926,262
202026,135
202125,946
202225,821
202325,611
202425,333
202524,888
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Bridgend council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 80,478 people in 1996; 89,691 people in 2025. 11.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Bridgend council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199181,321
199281,471
199381,564
199481,294
199580,707
199680,478
199780,026
199880,699
199980,722
200080,651
200181,126
200282,045
200383,056
200483,791
200584,663
200685,672
200787,042
200887,912
200988,133
201088,502
201189,024
201288,506
201388,309
201488,298
201588,501
201688,462
201788,385
201888,144
201988,526
202089,146
202189,439
202289,431
202389,815
202489,930
202589,691
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Bridgend council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 21,281 people in 1996; 32,407 people in 2025. 52.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Bridgend council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,382
199221,429
199321,429
199421,422
199521,433
199621,281
199721,234
199821,279
199921,180
200021,175
200121,323
200221,504
200321,714
200422,030
200522,224
200622,480
200722,936
200823,435
200923,981
201024,546
201125,028
201225,913
201326,636
201427,435
201527,904
201628,496
201728,932
201829,280
201929,712
202030,153
202130,353
202230,822
202331,266
202431,825
202532,407
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 145,490 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bridgend · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh2,1521.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4290.3%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,6841.2%
White140,79996.8%
Other ethnic group4260.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 139,178 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bridgend · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White136,09097.8%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9980.7%
Asian/Asian British1,5491.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British3150.2%
Other ethnic group2260.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 128,645 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bridgend · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White126,87898.6%
Mixed5010.4%
Asian/Asian British5460.4%
Black/Black British1040.1%
Chinese/Other6160.5%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 17.6% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Bridgend council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,918 per person in 1997; £21,400 per person in 2024. 115.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Bridgend council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,918
19989,856
199910,097
200010,842
200110,871
200210,766
200311,195
200411,545
200511,782
200612,150
200712,737
200813,135
200913,077
201013,382
201113,437
201213,757
201314,370
201414,797
201515,031
201615,164
201715,618
201816,311
201916,828
202017,141
202117,832
202218,933
202319,985
202421,400
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Bridgend council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -6.5% in 1997; -17.6% in 2024. 11.1 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Bridgend council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-6.5
1998-9
1999-10.7
2000-8.9
2001-12.1
2002-14.9
2003-14.1
2004-14.9
2005-16.2
2006-17
2007-17
2008-16.6
2009-18.3
2010-17.1
2011-17.5
2012-18.6
2013-18
2014-18.2
2015-21
2016-21.3
2017-20.7
2018-20.1
2019-20.1
2020-18.3
2021-18.4
2022-17.6
2023-18.3
2024-17.6
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

53.6%

21 March 2021 · Bridgend council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

21.8%

21 March 2021 · Bridgend council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

21.8%

21 March 2021 · Bridgend council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.6%

21 March 2021 · Bridgend council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£210,000

July 2026 · Bridgend council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£763

August 2026 · Bridgend council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.